top of page
Search

Club Cracker Chicken

Updated: May 28, 2022


As it gets closer to baby time (T-minus eight weeks!), I have been thinking quite a bit about how and when I can get my freezer stocked with meals. This week’s Club Cracker Chicken has been one of my go-to freezer meals for a few years now. I often make a full batch, divide it in half, bake half that night and freeze the other half for later. This method has worked well for just the two of us since most recipes are for 4-6 people, and it’s a great way to stock your freezer with quick meals without really taking any extra time to do so.


My Club Cracker Chicken recipe isn’t just another Midwestern casserole! It is the perfect weeknight meal that can easily double as a fancier Sunday lunch, meal prep choice, or, again, a meal or two to throw in the freezer for later. It pairs well with a million different side dishes and has the ideal combination of creamy and comforting with a crispy crunch on top.


You (and those lucky enough to eat what you cook) are in for a treat, Average Chefs!



Club Cracker Chicken

Serves 4-6

Estimated time, start to serve: 40 minutes*


*Time does not include the time it takes to cook your chicken. I prefer to cook mine in a crockpot on low covered in chicken broth for 3-4 hours.


Ingredients:

  • 3-4 chicken breasts, cooked according to your preference

  • 1 ½ cups sour cream or plain Greek yogurt (or ¾ cup of each)

  • 1 can cream of chicken soup

  • ¼ cup milk

  • 1 Tbsp. dried, minced onion flakes or a few shakes of onion powder

  • Black pepper, to taste (I prefer Lowry’s Garlic Pepper seasoning–it’s my go-to seasoning)

  • 1 sleeve of Club crackers (approximately 40-50)


Instructions:


1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.


2. Roughly chop the cooked chicken into bite-sized chunks. You may also use shredded chicken (as you’ll see in my photos), but I find that this dish is a lot more moist when the chicken is left in bigger pieces.


3. In a separate bowl, combine the sour cream, soup, milk, minced onion, and pepper. Mix in the chicken. Pour the mixture into a greased 9x13” pan (or two 8x8” square pans).


4. Crush the Club crackers and sprinkle them on top. If freezing this dish, do not add the crackers yet; add them on top once thawed and ready to bake. I like to put the crackers in a little Ziplock bag and tape it to the meal.


5. Bake uncovered for 30 minutes or until the edges are bubbly and the crackers start to turn golden brown on top.


6. Enjoy! I often serve this dish with a green veggie like broccoli or green beans and a small salad or scoop of fresh fruit.



Proud of your work? Take a photo of your “Average” creation and tag @the.brass.spoon on Instagram to show off your skills! If you allow me to follow you, I’ll post your story to my story!


If you’re new, remember to subscribe to future recipes by entering your email address below. Share the link to this recipe with friends and family who could use a few meal ideas! Please reach out to me with questions or special requests for future weeks via the Contact Me page or my Instagram DM’s.

1,159 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Thank you for sharing this;

Like

Kim Van Es
Kim Van Es
May 23, 2022

I love hearing about the meals at your house!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page