top of page
Search

Crockpot Sausage and Potatoes

It is officially fall, so to me that means it’s time to break out the crockpot! Let’s be honest: Crockpots are essential kitchen appliances year-round, but they’re especially wonderful when making comfort food. And when it’s getting just a tad bit chilly outside, comfort food is what I crave!


This week’s recipe is, as always, super simple and sure to please your entire family--especially if some of those members are “meat ‘n’ potatoes” people! If you don’t own a crockpot yet, Average Chefs, the time is now (or maybe on Black Friday). They’re insanely cheap and last a lifetime. I have three sizes: one tiny one for dips, an “original”-sized one, and also a large oval-shaped one. I use all three of them frequently!


The best part about crockpot meals is that you can start “cooking” the meal when it’s convenient for you and adjust the temperature according to your schedule. I haven’t made this dish not in a crockpot, but I do have some directions below that should work for you if you’d rather bake it instead. (Side note: I do not own an InstaPot, otherwise I would include directions for that method.)


Fire up those crockpots, Average Chefs!



Crockpot Sausage and Potatoes*

Serves 4-6; Fills my “regular”-sized crockpot to the brim; the large oval size would also work

Estimated time, start to serve: Preparation: 20 minutes; Crockpot cooking time: 3-6 hours


*Recipe inspired by and adapted from Diary of a Recipe Collector’s “Crockpot Sausage & Potatoes”


Ingredients:

  • 2-3 lbs. Russet (baking) potatoes, peeled and cut into halves or fourths

  • One medium onion, diced; you could also use 1 Tbsp. dried minced onion or 1 tsp. onion powder, but I will say that the crockpot basically melts the onion pieces into nothingness, so even onion haters will not notice them

  • Two (12-14-oz.) packages of Hillshire Farm smoked sausage (beef, turkey, whatever!), the kind that comes in the semi-circle link

  • One 10.5-oz. can of cream of mushroom soup; I despise the texture of mushrooms, so I blended up the can of soup in my Magic Bullet to get rid of the chunks but still preserve the flavor

  • 1-1 ½ tsp. Creole seasoning (it usually comes in a big-ish spice container; I have the Zatarain’s brand) Can’t find Creole seasoning? Make it yourself following this recipe, use only a teaspoon of it now, and then save the rest for another time.


Instructions:

1. Peel and cut your potatoes into halves or fourths, as long as they are approximately all the same size. Dice your onion. Cut the sausage into approximately 2-inch chunks. I cut mine in half lengthwise, too.


2. Blend your cream of mushroom soup to get rid of the pieces if you’re a baby about mushroom texture like I am. Blend in or stir in the Creole seasoning.


3. Spray the inside of your crockpot with nonstick cooking spray. Add in all of the ingredients (potatoes, onion, sausage, and soup/seasoning mixture) and stir well. Cover.


4. Cook on low for 5-6 hours or on high for 3-4 hours, stirring once or twice along the way. If the dish seems dry, splash in a little milk. It is ready when a fork pokes easily into the potatoes. The finished product isn’t insanely attractive, but it’s delicious!


Baking directions: Pour all of the ingredients into a large, greased casserole dish. Make sure it’s well stirred with the potatoes and sausage evenly coated in sauce. Cover with foil. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 ½ hours, stirring halfway through. If you try this method, please let me know how it worked!


5. Enjoy! This dish would be lovely with some green beans and/or fresh fruit and a salad. It is super filling and warms up well!



Proud of your work? Take a photo of your “Average” creation and tag @the.brass.spoon on Instagram to show off your skills! If you allow me to follow you, I’ll post your story to my story!


If you’re new, remember to subscribe to future recipes by entering your email address below. Share the link to this recipe with friends and family who could use a few meal ideas! Please reach out to me with questions or special requests for future weeks via the Contact Me page or my Instagram DM’s.


205 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page