top of page
Search

Mini BBQ Chicken Pizzas


I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: Naan bread is the MVP in the kitchen. I cannot count how many different ways I’ve found to use it in recipes. My favorite use of Naan, however, is for mini flatbread pizzas. They are also the foundation of my maybe-a-little-famous Crab Rangoon Flatbread Pizza a few months back!


When it comes to prepackaged Naan bread, I typically opt for the name brand “Stonefire” that comes in the black and red-orange package. Their two main varieties are the 2-pack of “regular” sized Naan and the 4-pack of “mini” Naan. I prefer the “mini” variety for personal flatbread pizzas. Pita bread is not quite the same flavor or texture but could work in a pinch. Naan bread can be a little tricky to find, especially if you’re from a small town. Listed below is where I’ve found Naan bread in some of the most popular grocery stores:

  • Hy-Vee: in the freezer section

  • Fareway: in the bread section

  • Walmart and Target: in the deli section near the meat counter

  • Trader Joe’s and Aldi: in the bread section (they have their own brands and they’re both wonderful!)

If you cannot find Naan bread in your store, you could order it online, but one underrated option is to find your grocery store’s manager and simply request that they start carrying the product you want. I’ve done this a number of times at our local Hy-Vee via Facebook Messenger, and they have always welcomed by request and shipped in that product the very next week. When I do find Naan bread, I usually buy 3-4 packages at a time and freeze the ones I’m not using that night.


However or wherever you locate Naan bread, I hope that you do--and quickly! This recipe for Mini BBQ Chicken Pizzas is a crowd pleaser, one that my husband will give a little cheer for when he sees it written on the weekly menu. With only a few ingredients and easy preparation, I am positive this recipe will become a favorite of yours as well.


Average Chefs, let’s create another masterpiece!



Mini BBQ Chicken Pizzas

Serves 3-4

Estimated time, start to serve: 30 minutes*


*Does not include time spent cooking the chicken beforehand


Ingredients:

  • 4 pieces of mini Naan bread (or 2 regular-sized pieces); one large, rectangular premade flatbread can also work

  • 1-1 ½ cups of cooked, shredded chicken; I am becoming increasingly obsessed with just grabbing a rotisserie chicken and shredding that instead--it’s so tender and juicy! I used about ⅓ of the rotisserie chicken for this recipe and froze the other ⅔ in a Ziploc bag

  • ⅔ cup (give or take) of your favorite BBQ sauce

  • ¼ of a small red onion

  • Approx. 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

  • Fresh cilantro


Instructions:

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.


2. In a bowl or saucepan, add the BBQ sauce to the cooked, shredded chicken and stir. Add more or less BBQ sauce, depending on your sauciness preference. The meat should be evenly coated.


3. Flip the Naan breads upside-down on a baking sheet so the level, underneath side is facing up. Evenly divide the BBQ’ed chicken among the flatbreads. Spread the chicken around to cover the whole surface of each one.


4. Sprinkle the mozzarella cheese on top of each flatbread.


5. Slice the red onion into skinny slivers (“julienne style”), and lay pieces on top of the cheese.


6. Pick cilantro leaves off of the stems, and lay those among the red onions. You could chop up the cilantro, but I prefer to keep the leaves whole for this recipe.


7. Bake the flatbreads for about 15 minutes or until the cheese is completely melted, the edges of the flatbread are starting to brown, and the cilantro leaves are beginning to shrivel up.


8. Enjoy! We love these flatbreads with fresh pineapple on the side (goes well with the BBQ flavor!).



Proud of your work? Take a photo of your “Average” creation and tag @the.brass.spoon on Instagram to show off your skills! If you allow me to follow you, I’ll post your story to my story!


If you’re new, remember to subscribe to future recipes by entering your email address below. Share the link to this recipe with friends and family who could use a few meal ideas! Please reach out to me with questions or special requests for future weeks via the Contact Me page or my Instagram DM’s.

374 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Kim Van Es
Kim Van Es
Sep 12, 2021

Oh, I am definitely trying these.

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page