top of page
Search

Thai Peanut Flatbreads

The period of time between Thanksgiving and Christmas can be difficult for many reasons, but for me, one of the main reasons is that I am struggling to know what to make for supper. Since both of these holidays involve heavy amounts of cooking, it is difficult to be motivated when I don’t necessarily have to be.


When I do cook something of value, I want it to be something different than the usual tacos, sandwiches, or chicken strips. I also try to keep the meal somewhat light and on the healthier side since both of these holidays can include such rich dishes.


This week’s Thai Peanut Flatbreads are the unexpected dish that you never knew your menu needed. Peanut butter makes a delicious base for the sauce, and the toppings keep the flatbread light and nutritious. As most of you know, I am obsessed with using Naan bread as a mini pizza crusts, and it was just about time to whip out another version of flatbread pizzas! Check out my Crab Rangoon Flatbread Pizzas and Mini BBQ Chicken Pizzas for other ways to use Naan bread!


Craving something different this week? Look no further, Average Chefs!



Thai Peanut Flatbreads

Serves 2-4

Estimated time, start to serve: 30 minutes


Ingredients:

  • 4 “mini” pieces of Naan bread, 2 large pieces of Naan bread, or one large pre-made flatbread; Naan bread can be tricky to find. The most common (and best) brand is “Stonefire,” and it comes in a red/orange and black package. Check the freezer section (Hy-Vee), the deli section (Walmart & Target), or the bread section (Fareway); I used five mini flatbreads in my photos because I had one left over from a previous recipe

  • ⅓ cup salsa

  • 3 Tbsp. peanut butter

  • 1 Tbsp. soy sauce or liquid coconut aminos

  • 2 Tbsp. honey

  • 1 cup of cooked, shredded chicken; I used approximately half of a rotisserie chicken

  • 1 handful of spinach, finely chopped

  • ½-⅔ cup of shredded (also called “matchstick”) carrots

  • 1 cup of shredded mozzarella cheese

  • Handful of fresh cilantro, leaves plucked off


Instructions:


1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.


2. In a blender or food processor, blend together the ⅓ cup salsa, 3 Tbsp. peanut butter, 1 Tbsp. soy sauce, and 2 Tbsp. honey. With a little elbow grease, you could also use a whisk, but I prefer a creamier sauce. Toss in the shredded chicken and mix well.


3. On a flat baking sheet, place the Naan bread upside-down so the flattest side is facing up. Scoop the sauced chicken on top and spread evenly out to the edges.


4. Sprinkle the finely chopped spinach and shredded carrots on top of the chicken, followed by the shredded cheese. Place full cilantro leaves on top of the cheese.


5. Bake the flatbread(s) for approximately 15-17 minutes or until the cheese is melted, the cilantro is shriveling up, and the chicken layer is hot.


6. Enjoy! These flatbreads pair wonderfully with a side of fresh pineapple.



Proud of your work? Take a photo of your “Average” creation and tag @the.brass.spoon on Instagram to show off your skills! If you allow me to follow you, I’ll post your story to my story!


If you’re new, remember to subscribe to future recipes by entering your email address below. Share the link to this recipe with friends and family who could use a few meal ideas! Please reach out to me with questions or special requests for future weeks via the Contact Me page or my Instagram DM’s.


188 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page